Tags

, , , , ,


By: D.Baker

A few years ago I purchased a book about spiritually cleaning your house.  Ask anyone that knows me and they will tell you I am a bit of a neat freak so this was right up my alley, cleaning, purging and pleasing God all at the same time.  I got sucked right in!   After reading this book I went through my house like a one woman army, I searched every inch of my house and attic for potentially evil contraband that Satan could use as an entrance into my home.  When I was done with my little purging experience we went through our house anointing every window and door, praying and rebuking the enemy and pleading the blood of Jesus over every object in the house.  What’s wrong with that?  I’ll tell you, it’s nothing more than Christian voodoo magic.  I didn’t see anything wrong with what I was doing at the time, while I was burning my Harry Potter books because of their evil content I was participating in a different kind of magic, Christian magic.  You know that magic oil that we rub on everything and everyone, thinking it has some special power.  Now don’t get me wrong here, I see no harm in going to the elders of your church for prayer and being anointed with oil.  What I do have a problem with is Christians who use this oil as some kind of special talisman to ward off evil spirits or some kind of special healing spell.  It’s no different than going to the voodoo priestess who tells you to burn a special colored candle or burn sage etc. to ward off some kind of evil or heal someone or make your boyfriend love you.   You can apply that oil until you look like a greased chicken ready to put in the oven, but it has no power.

There is nothing wrong with getting rid of things that you don’t need any more or things that might cause you to slip back in to sin that are laying around your house.  I used to like to study about horoscope’s and what your birth sign means and after I became a Christian I didn’t want it in my house any more, I was fascinated by that stuff and I didn’t want to take the chance of picking it back up.  But all this purging to keep evil spirits out of the house was just silly, I am a Christian, I am saved, delivered, set free and sealed why do I need to go through all these rituals to get rid of the enemy?  That’s simple, I don’t!  All this pleading the blood of Jesus really disturbs me too, I cringe every time I hear someone do it, and it was done constantly in my old church.  Not only do I think it’s un-necessary but I think it’s a slap in Christ’s face every time someone does it.  Many people do it because they don’t know any better and because they have been taught to do it their whole Christian life.  Christ Jesus shed his blood and applied it once and for all, ONE TIME THAT’S IT AND HE SAID “ IT IS FINISHED”!  Why do people not get that?    Why do people think they can go around pleading Jesus’ blood on everything from people to cars?  Plead means to beg, does God’s word tell us to beg the blood of Jesus on our car every time we get in it or on ourselves and loved ones?  Absolutely not!  Pleading the blood is unbiblical and unnecessary and we shouldn’t be doing it. Jesus taught us how we should pray and he never told us to plead or beg his blood on anything, nor is it our place to apply his blood to anything, it’s His blood to apply and he applied it once and for all for those who believe in him!  Pray that the Lord would keep you from evil and the evil one but stop with the pleading of the blood on everything!

Hebrews 10:12, …after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down at the right hand of God.

Hebrews 7:26-27 …For such a High Priest was fitting for us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and has become higher than the heavens; 27 who does not need daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the people’s, for this He did once for all when He offered up Himself.r the sins of many…

Hebrews 10:10 By the which will we are sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

Hebrews 10:14 For by one offering he hath perfected for ever them that are sanctified.

God’s word tells us not to fear, God doesn’t give us a spirit of fear but before I learned that Jesus set me free and I really understood what that meant, I was scared to death of demon’s lurking around every corner.  I was scared to death my son’s music or some other thing was going to carry an evil spirit in my house.   I truly thought there was a demon under every bush just waiting for me or one of my family members to do something to invite them in.  I am protected from the enemy, the enemy can’t touch me unless God allows it, so whom shall I fear?

Psalm 27:1

The LORD is my light and my salvation;
Whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the strength of my life;
Of whom shall I be afraid?

There are so many Christians who suffer from unbelief, and a lack of trust in their savior Jesus Christ. Sure they believe in Jesus but they don’t believe him and his word because if they believed his words and trusted Him they wouldn’t be going around doing all this stuff that resembles voodoo.

My advice to any Christian would be to get rid of things in your home that would be displeasing to God that would cause you to sin, don’t have Buddha statues and such sitting around, get rid of this stuff, just dispose of it properly.   However it is unnecessary to anoint the entire house pleading the blood and purging the atmosphere of evil spirits.  Focus on Jesus, make sure he is the Lord of your life, live for him, read his word, study his word, keep his commands, trust Him,  love your God with all your heart mind and soul and pray!  And remember he set you free!  He shed his blood one time and applied it one time, lets not keep hanging Christ up on the cross to shed and apply his blood over and over again.

