I was just talking with someone today about this very thing and I found this little article called “Joy Unspeakable” on a blog called Titus 1:9.

When I was a little girl I was crazy about Shirley Temple, and yes she was way before my time but I loved her songs and her movies and I remember a little song of hers, “Fair the well, Fair the well, Mr.Gloom be on your way if you think you’re gonna worry you can stop it in a hurry singin Polly Wolly Doodle all the day.”  Of course that’s just part of that little song that makes me think of being joyful.   Christian Oh how joyful we should be, our sins have been washed clean, our savior has payed our debt and He is going to return one day for us and I can’t think of another thing that would make a Christian more joyful than that.  There is no place for Mr.Gloom in the Christian!  Thank You Jesus!

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones. Proverbs 17:22

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

