Hello, it’s me, the always absent blogger.  So sorry I have been away from my blog for so long!  Life sure does get in the way of a well intentioned blogger.  I will spare you all the details of my best selling fiction worthy life and just say how I have missed blogging and hope to do much more of it in the coming new year!  I hope that everyone had a blessed Christmas, and I hope you all are looking forward to a new year.

As I was packing away the Christmas decorations I was thinking about all that has transpired since the previous year and wondering what the new year will bring while hoping that this years troubles will be far away the next time I see those decorations.  Knowing all the while that whatever the new year does bring the Lord will be right there with me to help me with whatever comes my way.  It really is comforting to know that we don’t face anything alone when we are in Christ Jesus, he is a friend that sticks closer than a brother, we can cast our cares on him and he will bear our burdens.  Oh no this doesn’t mean an easy life with no heart break or tears, it means that he is there with us every step of the way leading us and guiding us and most always that mountain we have to climb is the very thing that leads the child of God closer to him.   I am so thankful for a savior that is by my side, there are things this year I have had to face that I would never have been able to face without him.  I would be curled up in a ball in a puddle of tears unable to leave my room if not for Jesus.  We have all heard that old saying many times that the Lord won’t put more on you than you can bear.  Well that’s a nice old saying but it’s not what the bible says.  Here is the actual scripture that is taken from:

1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.

Gods word translation

There isn’t any temptation that you have experienced which is unusual for humans. God, who faithfully keeps his promises, will not allow you to be tempted beyond your power to resist. But when you are tempted, he will also give you the ability to endure the temptation as your way of escape.

http://www.bloggingtheologically.com/2009/07/20/everyday-theology-god-wont-give-you-more-than-you-can-handle/

Jamison Fausset brown commentary

13. Consolation to them, under their temptation; it is none but such as is “common to man,” or “such as man can bear,” “adapted to man’s powers of endurance” [Wahl].

faithful-(Ps 125:3; Isa 27:3, 8; Re 3:10). “God is faithful” to the covenant which He made with you in calling you (1Th 5:24). To be led into temptation is distinct from running into it, which would be “tempting God” (1Co 10:9; Mt 4:7).

way to escape-(Jer 29:11; 2Pe 2:9). The Greek is, “the way of escape”; the appropriate way of escape in each particular temptation; not an immediate escape, but one in due time, after patience has had her perfect work (Jas 1:2-4, 12). He “makes” the way of escape simultaneously with the temptation which His providence permissively arranges for His people.

to bear it-Greek, “to bear up under it,” or “against it.” Not, He will take it away (2Co 12:7-9).

So you see there, he makes it so that you can bear up against that which is tempting you, he gives you the strength to endure temptations and trials.  Through this we also learn to lean on Jesus, depend on him and trust him more.  None of us enjoy these trials, some are just so terribly painful but imagine these trials without Jesus and without hope.  Better yet I don’t want to imagine that, pray for those who have no hope.  Please keep my family in your prayers this coming year as we have some difficult hurdles to get over.

I pray that each of you have a blessed New Year!!  Blessings to each of you in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

