Here is an excellent article about Spiritual Abuse from The Watchman Expositor.  Just click on the link there for the full article.

Spiritual abuse is a very difficult thing to get over, it has lasting effects on it’s victim.  As those of you know that read my blog, my family and I attended an abusive fellowship for a little more than 3 years.  I left the church in the summer of 2009.  I am very thankful that my time there wasn’t longer as I am sure the longer you stay in an abusive fellowship the harder it is for you to leave and the longer it takes to heal.  While I will always suffer from the effects of spiritual abuse I have come so far.  I have learned so much, namely that I can’t put my trust in men and organizations but only on Jesus Christ and his infallible word.  I have learned to cling evermore to the bible and it’s doctrines and never fail to test all that I am taught with scripture. I have to say I never wanted to step foot in church again and I didn’t for some time, but after much praying and asking God for a true bible teaching Gospel preaching church we found (thanks to Teresa and Sermon Audio!) our home church Elizabeth Baptist.  And no, there are no perfect churches because there are no perfect people, but your church should always be the Pillar and Ground for the Truth!!  Your pastor should be open for questions and welcome them! Your church should have Deacons and Elders to guard the flock that Christ gave his life for, and your Pastor should be subject to the authority of them in regards to church matters.

I hope that you will read the article I linked to, it is very good, take some time and ask yourself if your church resembles some of  those characteristics.  If you do find that you are in an abusive fellowship please know that you are not alone, there are many of us that have been right where you are.  It’s a scary place to be, but with prayer, trusting in Jesus and following him and him alone you can take the steps necessary to come out of spiritual abuse.  You can feel free to comment on my blog, you don’t have to use your name unless you want to and can post as anonymous or make up a screen name of your favorite cartoon character or something.  I’ve used all kinds of crazy names (Lunice, LOL).  Sometimes it helps to have others to talk to.

Here are a few more articles pertaining to this subject:

Mind Control: Six Tell-tale signs of Abusive Church Leaders   

How Can I Discern Whether I’m In a Healthy or Abusive Fellowship

